Lux Awards 2016 shortlist revealed

The Lux Awards will be held on the 24th of November 2016 and this year the ceremony is transforming. The awards will take place in a brand new venue – The InterContinental London – The O2 on the Greenwich Peninsula.The shortlist for the 2016 Lux Awards has been announced and this year the list features a whole host of impressive projects and inventive new technology.

Sitting just below the Emirates cable cars, which zip from one side of the Thames to the other, the hotel, with its views over the glittering Canary Wharf skyline, will make this year’s Lux Awards look and feel like no other.

Our team of expert judges – including experienced specifiers and end users of lighting – have considered the projects entered, visited the sites, spoken to the key people, and whittled down the list to just those schemes that they believe have a shot at winning a coveted Lux Award trophy.

These are the projects that have struck that balance between looking great, fulfilling the brief, and keeping energy and maintenance costs down.

Tables for the Lux Awards 2016 are now on sale and you can find out more here.

Retail Lighting Project of the Year  

Lush, Arndale Centre, Manchester – Michael Grubb Studio

Waitrose, Kings Cross, London – Waitrose

Wilko LED roll-out, Nationwide – Zumtobel


Body Studio, Selfridges, London – Nulty+

Dynamic Window Lighting, Selfridges, London – Progress Lighting

Fenwick, New Bond Street, London – NDYLight

Iceland LED roll-out, Nationwide – Dextra Group


Industrial and Transport Lighting Project of the Year 

In association with Helvar      

Dali Lighting System, Manchester Airport – Loytec Electronics

Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport – CU Phosco

Asos Distribution Centre – Brand Lighting Design

CooperVision,     Fareham – Ceravision


Office, Education and Healthcare Lighting Project of the Year

Astra Zeneca, Macclesfield – Enigma Lighting

Berghaus, Sunderland – Nulty+

Blavatnik School of Government, Oxford – Hoare Lea Lighting

The Diamond, University of Sheffield – Arup

Enterprise Centre, University of East Anglia – BDP

FM Conway, Sevenoaks – 8point3

Lower Reading Room, Radcliffe Camera, Oxford – University of Oxford

Oxford Brookes University – Oxford Brookes University

Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, London – Helvar

Virgin Active, Walbrook, London  – Hoare Lea Lighting

Hospitality, Leisure and Faith Lighting Project of the Year

Belmond Grand Hibernian, Dublin – Studio-29

Derby Cathedral – James Morse Lighting Design

Guinness Storehouse, Dublin – Michael Grubb Studio

German Gymnasium, London – Into Lighting

Switch House, Tate Modern, London – Arup


Interior Luminaire of the Year

In association with Harvard Technology

Beacon Tune – Concord by Feilo Sylvania

Insaver LED II – Lumiance by Feilo Sylvania

Lunexo LED – Trilux

Lateralo Plus LED – Trilux

Moda Mini Cove – Moda Light

Mood – Reggiani

Prismaspace – Holophane Europe

Supersystem 2 – Zumtobel

Outdoor Lighting Project of the Year

Christchurch Bridge, Reading – Schréder/Peter Brett Associates

Hilton Doubletree, London Docklands – James Poore Lighting Design

Hotel Sofitel, Lower Regent Street, London – Studio-29

IMAX Waterloo, London – Bright Green Technology

Night of Heritage Light, Nationwide – Society of Light and Lighting

Scott Monument, Edinburgh – KSLD


Emergency Lighting Product of the Year

CrystalWay – Eaton Electrical Systems

EyeNut Combined Emergency – Harvard Technology

Fastel – P4

FED/3 – Liteplan

Lux Intelligent – Advanced

Panel Pod Emergency – Ansell Lighting

Exterior Luminaire of the Year

Blade – acdc

Cells – Reggiani

Color-Amp – GVA Lighting

FL100 Series – GVA Lighting

Hybrid Column – Jab Lighting

Lumenbeam – Lumenpulse

P862 – CU Phosco

Shuffle – Urbis Schréder


Connected Lighting Innovation of the Year 

Controls Product of the Year

Active+ – Helvar

LightShape – eldoLED

Lumentalk –  Lumenpulse

LUXeye  – Osram

Vitesse Plus – CP Electronics

ZCell LED – Lucy Zodion

Sponsored by Osram 

Casambi – Casambi Technologies

CX-Series – Beckhoff Automation

Gooee – Gooee

LightRules Mobile – Digital Lumens

Proxima – Prolojik

SLM – Samsung

Enabling technology of the Year

Araya5 Logic Module – Lumenetix

Bloom Unit  – migenius

LM301B – Samsung

Orion beam forming module – Plessey Semiconductor

Real Colour GU10 Lamp – Integral LED

Ronda    COB lens family – Ledil

Soraa Flicker-Free MR16 Lamp – Soraa

Tile Premium – Cooledge

UltraFlat System – Osram

Vx-filter  – Verbatim


The Recycling Award  

Sponsored by Recolight and Lumicom

To be announced on the night

Manufacturer of the Year

In association with Arrow        


CP Electronics

Dextra Group

Harvard Technology


Holophane Europe


Plessey Semiconductor


Client of the Year 

Sponsored by Dextra

To be announced on the night

SLL Young Lighter of the Year

This category rewards and recognises young talent. To enter, visit

Lux Person of the Year 

Sponsored by Samsung

To be announced on the night

The Lux Awards will be held on the 24th of November 2016 at The InterContinental London – The O2 on the Greenwich Peninsula. Tables are on sale now and you can find out more here.

Related Posts